EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2023 / 17380/ENFORCEMENT NOTICE

Complete Marketing Services Ltd

Enforcement noticePECR 20039 November 2023

None

Financial penalty

Enforcement notice, no fine

9 November 2023

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

provision not named

Marketing

Sector

28 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Complete Marketing Services Ltd with a enforcement notice on 9 November 2023 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Complete Marketing Services Ltd
Action
Enforcement notice
Date published
9 November 2023
Register year
2023
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Marketing
ICO register reference
17380
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
28 of 216 actions (13%)
Actions published that year
80
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
103rd of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
3 actions dated 9 November 2023
Calls or messages recorded
242,497
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Complete Marketing Services Ltd received an ICO enforcement notice on 9 November 2023. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

No sum is attached to this action. Enforcement notices are corrective, not financial, which is why Complete Marketing Services Ltd appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 242,497 marketing calls or messages. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

Complete Marketing Services Ltd is filed under Marketing, which accounts for 28 of the 216 actions on the register (13%). In 2023 the ICO published 80 enforcement actions in total, 21 of them enforcement notices. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 103rd of 216 actions on the register and the 19th of 28 in Marketing. The ICO published 3 actions on 9 November 2023, so this one was part of a batch: DPG Professional Services Ltd (enforcement notice) and DPG Professional Services Ltd (monetary penalty). Complete Marketing Services Ltd appears 2 times on this register: enforcement notice on 9 November 2023 and monetary penalty on 9 November 2023. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 305 KB in total: "Complete Marketing Services Ltd - Enforcement Notice - 9 November 2023". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Between 8 June 2021 and 4 February 2022, CMS instigated 242,497 unsolicited direct marketing calls in breach of Reg 21 and 24 of PECR.

CMS first came to the attention of the Commissioner in December 2021 when data pertaining to complaints about unsolicited live direct marketing calls regarding road traffic accidents ("RTA") and personal injury claims was reported by the TPS.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a enforcement notice does

An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence.

04Other entries for Complete Marketing Services Ltd

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Complete Marketing Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Sector not stated

05Published the same day

2 other actions carry the date 9 November 2023
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
DPG Professional Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
DPG Professional Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit

06Nearest entries on the register

All Marketing actions/All 2023 actions/The full register

07Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2023/11/complete-marketing-services-ltd-en/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28