EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO REGISTER / YEAR 2023/80 ACTIONS

ICO enforcement in 2023

Every action the Information Commissioner published with a 2023 date, as the register stood on 4 September 2026.

80

Actions published

37% of the register

22

Monetary penalties

13 with a published figure

£13,820,000

Penalties published

sum of stated amounts

£12,700,000

Largest single penalty

TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok)

16

Sectors represented

3 laws named

2023 in one paragraph

The ICO published 80 enforcement actions dated 2023, 48 more than in 2022. They break down as 37 reprimands, 22 monetary penalties and 21 enforcement notices. 38 name the UK GDPR and 40 were taken under PECR, the separate marketing and electronic-communications rules, carrying £1,120,000 of the year's published penalties between them. A PECR penalty is not a GDPR fine, and the two are counted apart everywhere on this register.

01Largest penalties of 2023

2023 by action type

  • Reprimand37 (46%)
  • Monetary penalty22 (28%)
  • Enforcement notice21 (26%)

2023 by law

02Every 2023 action

80 entries, newest first. 59 have a page here; 21 are listed as rows only because the ICO's published entry is too short to carry one.
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
South Tees Hospitals NHS Trust20 Dec 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Finham Park Multi Academy Trust7 Dec 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Education and childcare
Daniel George Bentley and Taipan Trading Ltd5 Dec 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Bank of Ireland30 Nov 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Finance, insurance and credit
Charnwood Borough Council29 Nov 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
NHS Fife23 Nov 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Intelling Ltd16 Nov 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Online technology and telecoms
GRS (Roadstone) Limited14 Nov 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-General business
Complete Marketing Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Complete Marketing Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Sector not stated
DPG Professional Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
DPG Professional Services Ltd9 Nov 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
University Hospital of Derby and Burton NHS Trust (UHDB)30 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Argentum Data Solutions Ltd26 Oct 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-General business
Argentum Data Solutions Ltd26 Oct 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-General business
Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI)26 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Outsource Strategies Ltd20 Oct 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Sector not stated
Outsource Strategies Ltd20 Oct 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Gap Personnel Holdings Limited19 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-General business
Optionis Group Limited10 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Finance, insurance and credit
Chief Constable West Mercia Police and Chief Constable Warwickshire Police6 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Digivo Media Limited3 Oct 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
Digivo Media Limited3 Oct 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£50,000Finance, insurance and credit
MCP Online Ltd28 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
MCP Online Ltd28 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Finance, insurance and credit
Nottinghamshire County Council27 Sep 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Cover Appliance Limited21 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Cover Appliance Ltd21 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£200,000Marketing
F12 Management Ltd21 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£200,000Marketing
F12 Management Ltd21 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Sector not stated
House Hold Appliances 247 Ltd21 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£55,000Marketing
House Hold Appliances 247 Ltd21 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
RHAP Ltd21 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£65,000Marketing
RHAP Ltd21 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
SGS Home Protect Ltd21 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£70,000Marketing
SGS Home Protect Ltd21 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Ministry of Justice8 Sep 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Simply Connecting Ltd6 Sep 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£40,000Marketing
Simply Connecting Ltd6 Sep 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Gloucester City Council1 Sep 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
This Is The Big Deal Limited25 Aug 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£30,000Utilities
London Borough of Lewisham16 Aug 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Swinburne, Snowball and Jackson12 Aug 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Legal
Recruitment company reprimand9 Aug 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-General business
NHS Lanarkshire31 Jul 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
My Media World Limited t/a Brand New Tube25 Jul 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Media
Executive Office21 Jul 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
The Patient and Client Council19 Jul 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Fortis Insolvency Limited28 Jun 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£30,000Sector not stated
Fortis Insolvency Limited28 Jun 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Sector not stated
Nottinghamshire Police21 Jun 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Crown Glazing Ltd8 Jun 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£130,000Utilities
Crown Glazing Ltd8 Jun 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Utilities
Maxen Power Supply Limited8 Jun 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£120,000Utilities
Maxen Power Supply Limited8 Jun 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Utilities
Thames Valley Police30 May 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Parkside Community Primary School23 May 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Education and childcare
Ice Telecommunications Ltd16 May 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Marketing
Ice Telecommunications Ltd16 May 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
UK Direct Business Solutions Limited16 May 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Marketing
TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok)15 May 2023Monetary penaltyUK GDPR£12,700,000Online technology and telecoms
Shropshire Council9 May 2023Enforcement noticeFreedom of Information Act 2000-Local government
Norfolk County Council5 May 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Plymouth City Council28 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Ministry of Justice27 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
University Hospitals Dorset NHS Foundation Trust25 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Join the Triboo Limited14 Apr 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£130,000Marketing
Join the Triboo Limited14 Apr 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing
Achieving for Children3 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Social care
Surrey Police3 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Sussex Police3 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
London Borough of Lewisham21 Mar 2023Enforcement noticeFreedom of Information Act 2000-Local government
Gain Capital UK Limited10 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Online technology and telecoms
NHS Highland9 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust7 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
NHS Blood and Transplant3 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Metropolitan Police Service2 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment21 Feb 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Charitable and voluntary
It's OK Limited15 Feb 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Retail and manufacture
It's OK Limited15 Feb 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Retail and manufacture

03Other years

Back to 2022/Forward to 2024/The full register

04Read across the site

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28