EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO REGISTER / YEAR 2022/32 ACTIONS

ICO enforcement in 2022

Every action the Information Commissioner published with a 2022 date, as the register stood on 4 September 2026.

32

Actions published

15% of the register

1

Monetary penalties

0 with a published figure

£0

Penalties published

sum of stated amounts

none

Largest single penalty

9

Sectors represented

4 laws named

2022 in one paragraph

The ICO published 32 enforcement actions dated 2022. They break down as 31 reprimands and 1 monetary penalty. 18 name the UK GDPR and 1 were taken under PECR, the separate marketing and electronic-communications rules. A PECR penalty is not a GDPR fine, and the two are counted apart everywhere on this register.

2022 by action type

  • Reprimand31 (97%)
  • Monetary penalty1 (3%)

2022 by law

02Every 2022 action

32 entries, newest first. 13 have a page here; 19 are listed as rows only because the ICO's published entry is too short to carry one.
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Monetise Media Limited14 Dec 2022Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Marketing
Power Leisure Bookmakers Limited6 Dec 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-General business
Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust10 Nov 2022ReprimandNot stated-Health
Department for Education2 Nov 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
Department for Work and Pensions31 Oct 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
Secretary of State for the Home Department7 Oct 2022ReprimandNot stated-Central government
Processing of special category biometric data4 Oct 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Transport and leisure
Chief Constable of Kent Police23 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-Criminal justice
London Borough of Lambeth23 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-Local government
Wakefield Council22 Sep 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
London Borough of Hackney21 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-Local government
Secretary of State for the Home Department (Home Office)21 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-Central government
Virgin Media Limited20 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-Sector not stated
National Crime Agency6 Sep 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Sector not stated
Ministry of Justice26 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Sector not stated
South Wales Police26 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Criminal justice
Jackson Quinn19 Aug 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated
Secretary of State for the Home Department (Home Office)16 Aug 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
Crown Prosecution Service12 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Central government
Ministry of Defence27 Jul 2022ReprimandNot stated-Central government
Grindr LLC26 Jul 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated
London Borough of Croydon26 Jul 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Direct Clothing Co. (UK) Limited18 Jul 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-General business
Department of Health and Social Care11 Jul 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government
Allied Health Professionals29 Jun 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated
Bolton at Home7 Jun 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated
Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust17 May 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated
Epsom and St Helier University Hospitals NHS Trust7 Apr 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
North Yorkshire County Council7 Apr 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Local government
Chief Constable of North Yorkshire Police2 Mar 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Criminal justice
NHS National Services Scotland (NHS NSS)24 Feb 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Health
Welsh Language Commissioner22 Jan 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Regulators

03Other years

Forward to 2023/The full register

04Read across the site

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28