8
Actions under this law
4% of the register
0
Monetary penalties
0 with a published figure
£0
Penalties published
sum of stated amounts
none
Largest single penalty
2022 to 2026
Span on the register
3 sectors
What this law is
The Data Protection Act 2018 carries the UK GDPR into domestic law, sets out the separate law-enforcement and intelligence-services regimes in Parts 3 and 4, and creates the criminal offences the ICO prosecutes.
On this register 8 of 216 actions (4%) name the Data Protection Act 2018, mostly as reprimands (6 of 8). None of them carries a published monetary figure.
01Provisions the ICO cited
Counted from the provisions named in the ICO's published notice for each action. Where a notice names no provision, nothing is counted.
By action type
- Reprimand6 (75%)
- Enforcement notice2 (25%)
By sector
- Criminal justice5 (63%)
- Sector not stated2 (25%)
- Central government1 (13%)
03Every action under this law
| Organisation | Date | Action | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Constable Commissioner for the Metropolis/ Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) | 27 Jul 2026 | Enforcement notice | - |
| Chief Constable Commissioner for the Metropolis/ Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) | 27 Jul 2026 | Reprimand | - |
| Crown Prosecution Service | 18 Jan 2024 | Enforcement notice | - |
| National Crime Agency | 6 Sep 2022 | Reprimand | - |
| Ministry of Justice | 26 Aug 2022 | Reprimand | - |
| South Wales Police | 26 Aug 2022 | Reprimand | - |
| Crown Prosecution Service | 12 Aug 2022 | Reprimand | - |
| Chief Constable of North Yorkshire Police | 2 Mar 2022 | Reprimand | - |
04The other laws on this register
05How these fines are worked out
How a fine is calculated
The statutory factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
Article 83 in full
The two tiers, the maximums, and the aggravating and mitigating factors.
The ICO profile
The UK regulator post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M caps, and where the UK regime diverges from the EU.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].