EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2022 / 17247/REPRIMAND

Ministry of Justice

ReprimandData Protection Act 201826 August 2022

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

26 August 2022

Date on the register

Data Protection Act 2018

Law relied on

provision not named

Sector not stated

Sector

35 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Ministry of Justice with a reprimand on 26 August 2022 under the Data Protection Act 2018. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Ministry of Justice
Action
Reprimand
Date published
26 August 2022
Register year
2022
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Sector not stated
ICO register reference
17247
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
35 of 216 actions (16%)
Actions published that year
32
Actions under this law
8
Position on the register
18th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
2 actions dated 26 August 2022
Entries for this organisation
3 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Ministry of Justice received an ICO reprimand on 26 August 2022. The Commissioner acted under the Data Protection Act 2018. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why Ministry of Justice appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2022 the ICO published 32 enforcement actions in total, 31 of them reprimands. 8 actions on the register name Data Protection Act 2018.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 18th of 216 actions on the register. The ICO published 2 actions on 26 August 2022, so this one was part of a batch: South Wales Police (reprimand). Ministry of Justice appears 3 times on this register: reprimand on 26 August 2022, reprimand on 27 April 2023 and reprimand on 8 September 2023. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 610 KB in total: "Ministry Of Justice Reprimand". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

A reprimand has been issued after an unauthorised disclosure of personal information.

A bulk amendment facility was used by staff to effect the required adjournment of a significant number of Magistrates’ Courts’ cases. Although the bulk adjournments were primarily made during April and May 2020, it was not until late September 2020 that it became apparent that the use of the amendment facility had resulted in guilty/not guilty plea records being incorrectly recorded. In some instances, this resulted in the incorrectly recorded verdicts being automatically cascaded onto the Police National Computer (PNC).

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

Data Protection Act 2018

The Data Protection Act 2018 carries the UK GDPR into domestic law, sets out the separate law-enforcement and intelligence-services regimes in Parts 3 and 4, and creates the criminal offences the ICO prosecutes.

All 8 register actions under Data Protection Act 2018

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

Published notice

04Other entries for Ministry of Justice

2 further entries on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Ministry of Justice8 Sep 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Criminal justice
Ministry of Justice27 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-Central government

05Published the same day

1 other action carry the date 26 August 2022
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
South Wales Police26 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Criminal justice

06Nearest entries on the register

All Sector not stated actions/All 2022 actions/The full register

07Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2022/08/ministry-of-justice/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28