95
Actions under this law
44% of the register
13
Monetary penalties
13 with a published figure
£47,173,773
Penalties published
sum of stated amounts
£14,472,500
Largest single penalty
Reddit, Inc.
2022 to 2026
Span on the register
18 sectors
What this law is
The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
On this register 95 of 216 actions (44%) name the UK General Data Protection Regulation, mostly as reprimands (78 of 95). 13 carry a published penalty, £47,173,773 in total, with a median of £750,000.
01Provisions the ICO cited
Counted from the provisions named in the ICO's published notice for each action. Where a notice names no provision, nothing is counted.
02Largest penalties under UK GDPR
| # | Organisation | Date | Action | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Reddit, Inc. | 23 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | £14,472,500 |
| 2 | Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd | 15 Oct 2025 | Monetary penalty | £14,000,000 |
| 3 | TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok) | 15 May 2023 | Monetary penalty | £12,700,000 |
| 4 | 23andMe | 5 Jun 2025 | Monetary penalty | £2,310,000 |
| 5 | LastPass UK Ltd | 20 Nov 2025 | Monetary penalty | £1,228,283 |
| 6 | South Staffordshire Plc and South Staffordshire Water Plc | 7 May 2026 | Monetary penalty | £963,900 |
| 7 | Police Service of Northern Ireland | 3 Oct 2024 | Monetary penalty | £750,000 |
| 8 | Ministry of Defence | 26 Feb 2024 | Monetary penalty | £350,000 |
| 9 | MediaLab.AI, Inc. | 4 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | £247,590 |
| 10 | Police Service of Scotland | 12 Dec 2025 | Monetary penalty | £66,000 |
| 11 | DPP Law Ltd | 14 Apr 2025 | Monetary penalty | £60,000 |
| 12 | Birthlink | 24 Jun 2025 | Monetary penalty | £18,000 |
By action type
- Reprimand78 (82%)
- Monetary penalty13 (14%)
- Enforcement notice4 (4%)
By sector
- Criminal justice18 (23%)
- Local government15 (19%)
- Health14 (18%)
- Central government9 (11%)
- Sector not stated7 (9%)
- General business7 (9%)
- Charitable and voluntary4 (5%)
03Every action under this law
04The other laws on this register
05How these fines are worked out
How a fine is calculated
The statutory factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
Article 83 in full
The two tiers, the maximums, and the aggravating and mitigating factors.
The ICO profile
The UK regulator post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M caps, and where the UK regime diverges from the EU.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].