£14,000,000
Penalty imposed
UK GDPR
15 October 2025
Date on the register
UK GDPR
Law relied on
provision not named
Sector not stated
Sector
35 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO fined Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd £14,000,000 on 15 October 2025 under the UK GDPR.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 15 October 2025
- Register year
- 2025
- Law relied on
- UK GDPR
- Provisions cited
- Not named in the published notice
- Penalty
- £14,000,000
- Sector on the register
- Sector not stated
- ICO register reference
- 81453
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 1 PDF published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 35 of 216 actions (16%)
- Actions published that year
- 31
- Actions under this law
- 95
- Position on the register
- 188th of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
- Rank by penalty size
- 2nd of 44 penalties with a published figure
02What happened, and where it sits
Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 15 October 2025. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
The penalty is £14,000,000. That is the 2nd largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the largest of the 10 recorded in 2025. UK GDPR penalties are capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 14 of them monetary penalties. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 188th of 216 actions on the register. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 1.2 MB in total: "Capita Plc And CPSL Monetary Penalty Notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
The Information Commissioner’s Office has fined Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd a combined £14m following a cyber attack in April 2023 which saw hackers gain access to over 6m people’s data.
The law behind this action
UK GDPR
The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
Published notice
- PDFCapita Plc And CPSL Monetary Penalty Notice(1.2 MB)
04Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Post Office Limited | 2 Dec 2025 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
| Bolton at Home | 7 Jun 2022 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
| LastPass UK Ltd | 20 Nov 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £1,228,283 |
| 23andMe | 5 Jun 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £2,310,000 |
| Jacksons Marketing Ltd | 12 Mar 2026 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £130,000 |
All Sector not stated actions/All 2025 actions/The full register
05Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/10/capita-plc/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].