87
Actions under this law
40% of the register
45
Monetary penalties
28 with a published figure
£3,060,000
Penalties published
sum of stated amounts
£300,000
Largest single penalty
KRA Consultancy Ltd
2022 to 2026
Span on the register
7 sectors
What this law is
PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.
On this register 87 of 216 actions (40%) name the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, mostly as monetary penalties (45 of 87). 28 carry a published penalty, £3,060,000 in total, with a median of £100,000.
The £500,000 ceiling is not a rule of thumb. The ICO states it in its own penalty notices: the Information Commissioner's Office (Monetary Penalties) (Maximum Penalty and Notices) Regulations 2010 "prescribe that the amount of any penalty determined by the Commissioner must not exceed £500,000". The largest penalty on this page, £300,000 against KRA Consultancy Ltd, sits against that ceiling rather than the UK GDPR maximum.
If you came here looking for GDPR fines, the UK GDPR set is on its own page. The two regimes have different maximums and different subject matter, and mixing them is the commonest error in press coverage of ICO enforcement.
01Provisions the ICO cited
Counted from the provisions named in the ICO's published notice for each action. Where a notice names no provision, nothing is counted.
02Largest penalties under PECR 2003
| # | Organisation | Date | Action | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | KRA Consultancy Ltd | 20 May 2026 | Monetary penalty | £300,000 |
| 2 | Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd | 28 May 2026 | Monetary penalty | £240,000 |
| 3 | Bharat Singh Chand | 16 Sep 2025 | Monetary penalty | £200,000 |
| 4 | Cover Appliance Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | £200,000 |
| 5 | F12 Management Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | £200,000 |
| 6 | Elderly Aids Limited | 6 Aug 2026 | Monetary penalty | £190,000 |
| 7 | Grocery Delivery E-Services UK Ltd t/a HelloFresh | 12 Jan 2024 | Monetary penalty | £140,000 |
| 8 | Jacksons Marketing Ltd | 12 Mar 2026 | Monetary penalty | £130,000 |
| 9 | Crown Glazing Ltd | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | £130,000 |
| 10 | Join the Triboo Limited | 14 Apr 2023 | Monetary penalty | £130,000 |
| 11 | Money Bubble Ltd MPN | 12 Dec 2024 | Monetary penalty | £120,000 |
| 12 | Maxen Power Supply Limited | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | £120,000 |
By action type
- Monetary penalty45 (52%)
- Enforcement notice42 (48%)
By sector
- Marketing25 (29%)
- Sector not stated21 (24%)
- Finance, insurance and credit13 (15%)
- General business12 (14%)
- Utilities10 (11%)
- Retail and manufacture5 (6%)
03Every action under this law
04The other laws on this register
05How these fines are worked out
How a fine is calculated
The statutory factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
Article 83 in full
The two tiers, the maximums, and the aggravating and mitigating factors.
The ICO profile
The UK regulator post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M caps, and where the UK regime diverges from the EU.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].