EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2024 / 17352/ENFORCEMENT NOTICE

Dr Telemarketing

Enforcement noticePECR 200315 February 2024

None

Financial penalty

Enforcement notice, no fine

15 February 2024

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 26

Sector not stated

Sector

35 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Dr Telemarketing with a enforcement notice on 15 February 2024 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Dr Telemarketing
Action
Enforcement notice
Date published
15 February 2024
Register year
2024
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 26
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Sector not stated
ICO register reference
17352
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
35 of 216 actions (16%)
Actions published that year
52
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
123rd of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Dr Telemarketing received an ICO enforcement notice on 15 February 2024. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, citing PECR regulation 21 and PECR regulation 26. An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

No sum is attached to this action. Enforcement notices are corrective, not financial, which is why Dr Telemarketing appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them enforcement notices. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 123rd of 216 actions on the register. Dr Telemarketing appears 2 times on this register: enforcement notice on 15 February 2024 and monetary penalty on 15 February 2024. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 557 KB in total: "Dr Telemarketing - Enforcement Notice" and "Dr Telemarketing - Monetary Penalty Notice". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Between 11 February 2021 to 24 January 2022, there were 80,240 connected calls unsolicited direct marketing calls being made to subscribers who were registered with the TPS and who had not notified DRT that they were willing to receive such calls, and two complaints being submitted as a result.

Calls were about the Irish Lottery.

DRT stopped engaging with the Commissioner part way through the investigation and failed to provide a satisfactory explanation for the Lotto Express calls involved in the contravention.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a enforcement notice does

An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence.

04Other entries for Dr Telemarketing

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Dr Telemarketing15 Feb 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£100,000Sector not stated

05Nearest entries on the register

All Sector not stated actions/All 2024 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/04/dr-telemarketing-enforcement-notice/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28