216
Actions on the register
148 with a page here
64
Monetary penalties
44 with a published figure
£53,623,773
Published penalty total
median £120,000
45
PECR, not GDPR
£3,060,000 of the total
4 September 2026
Register snapshot
5 years, 20 sectors
The short version
The ICO publishes 222 enforcement actions on its register, dated 22 January 2022 to 7 August 2026; 6 are prosecutions of named individuals and are left out here, so this tracker covers 216 actions against organisations. Most of them are reprimands: formal criticism with no fine attached, 97 entries in all (45%). Only 64 are monetary penalties, and 45 of those were issued under PECR, the marketing and electronic-communications rules, rather than the UK GDPR. The published penalties that state a figure come to £53,623,773, with a median of £120,000. UK enforcement is high in volume and low in value compared with the headline EU decisions indexed on the main register.
01Why the law matters more than the headline
95
actions naming the UK GDPR, 13 of them monetary penalties worth £47,173,773 where published. Maximum: £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
87
actions under the Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulations 2003: nuisance calls, unsolicited texts and emails, cookies. 45 monetary penalties worth £3,060,000. Maximum: £500,000. These are not GDPR fines and are never presented as such here.
02Latest actions
03Largest published penalties
By action type
- Reprimand97 (45%)
- Monetary penalty64 (30%)
- Enforcement notice55 (25%)
By law relied on
- UK GDPR95 (44%)
- PECR 200387 (40%)
- Not stated24 (11%)
- Data Protection Act 20188 (4%)
Top sectors
- Sector not stated35 (18%)
- Marketing28 (14%)
- Criminal justice26 (13%)
- General business20 (10%)
- Local government20 (10%)
- Finance, insurance and credit19 (10%)
- Health15 (8%)
- Central government14 (7%)
- Utilities11 (6%)
04By year
05By sector
Sector not stated
35
actions, £14,820,000 in penalties
Marketing
28
actions, £1,180,000 in penalties
Criminal justice
26
actions, £816,000 in penalties
General business
20
actions, £5,990,000 in penalties
Local government
20
actions
Finance, insurance and credit
19
actions, £410,000 in penalties
Health
15
actions
Central government
14
actions, £350,000 in penalties
Utilities
11
actions, £1,243,900 in penalties
Online technology and telecoms
7
actions, £28,648,373 in penalties
Retail and manufacture
5
actions, £140,000 in penalties
Charitable and voluntary
4
actions, £25,500 in penalties
Education and childcare
3
actions
Legal
2
actions
Transport and leisure
2
actions
Land or property services
1
action
Media
1
action
Political
1
action
Regulators
1
action
Social care
1
action
06By law
07What each action type actually does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. On this register 64 of 216 entries are monetary penalties (30%).
An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence. On this register 55 of 216 entries are enforcement notices (25%).
A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed. On this register 97 of 216 entries are reprimands (45%).
08How the register is built
Where it comes from
The ICO's own enforcement listing, read page by page, plus the notice PDF each entry links to. Nothing is taken from press coverage or third-party trackers.
How the law is decided
The statute shown is the one the ICO names in its own notice. Where a marketing case cites PECR regulations it is filed under PECR even if the notice also mentions the Data Protection Act, which carries the penalty machinery. Where no provision is named, the page says so.
Which entries get a page
148 of 216 entries carry enough published detail to support a page of their own. The remaining 68 are listed as rows on the year, sector and law pages, with the ICO's entry linked. Nothing is dropped and nothing is padded out.
FREQUENTLY ASKED
Common questions about ICO enforcement
How many enforcement actions does the ICO publish?
Is an ICO fine the same as a GDPR fine?
What is the largest ICO penalty on the register?
What is an ICO reprimand?
Which sectors does the ICO act against most?
Does an entry here mean an organisation is still in breach?
How far back does this register go?
Where does the data come from?
09Elsewhere on GDPRFine.com
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type.
EU and UK decision register
The major GDPR fines across the EEA and the UK, with amounts, articles and appeal status.
ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, and where the UK GDPR diverges from the EU regime.
How fines are calculated
The statutory factors and turnover caps behind every number on this register.
Appeals
What happens after a penalty notice, and how often regulators are overturned.
Fines by industry
Which sectors draw the largest penalties, across both regimes.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. Refreshed by re-reading the ICO listing and the notices it links; the snapshot date on every page is the date of that read.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].