EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO REGISTER / SECTOR/CRIMINAL JUSTICE

ICO enforcement: Criminal justice

Every action the Information Commissioner filed under Criminal justice on the enforcement register, as it stood on 4 September 2026.

26

Actions in this sector

12% of the register

3 of 20

Rank by volume

sectors on the register

2

Monetary penalties

2 with a published figure

£816,000

Penalties published

largest: Police Service of Northern Ireland

2022 to 2026

Span on the register

5 years

What the register shows for this sector

Criminal justice accounts for 26 of the 216 actions on the register (12%), which makes it the 3rd most heavily represented of the 20 sectors the ICO uses. The commonest action here is the reprimand, at 21 of 26 (81%). Most actions here name UK GDPR (18 of 26). 4 organisations appear more than once: Chief Constable Commissioner for the Metropolis/ Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) (2), South Wales Police (2), Greater Manchester Police (2), Chief Constable of Kent Police (2).

01Largest penalties in Criminal justice

Ranked by the amount the ICO published
#OrganisationDateActionLawPenalty
1Police Service of Northern Ireland3 Oct 2024Monetary penaltyUK GDPR£750,000
2Police Service of Scotland12 Dec 2025Monetary penaltyUK GDPR£66,000

By action type

  • Reprimand21 (81%)
  • Enforcement notice3 (12%)
  • Monetary penalty2 (8%)

By law

By year

02Every Criminal justice action

26 entries, newest first. 20 carry a page here.
OrganisationDateActionLawPenalty
Chief Constable Commissioner for the Metropolis/ Metropolitan Police Service (MPS)27 Jul 2026Enforcement noticeData Protection Act 2018-
Chief Constable Commissioner for the Metropolis/ Metropolitan Police Service (MPS)27 Jul 2026ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-
The Commissioner of Police for the City of London20 Feb 2026ReprimandUK GDPR-
Police Service of Scotland12 Dec 2025Monetary penaltyUK GDPR£66,000
South Wales Police9 Oct 2025Enforcement noticeUK GDPR-
South Yorkshire Police6 Jun 2025ReprimandUK GDPR-
Greater Manchester Police15 May 2025ReprimandUK GDPR-
Greater Manchester Police14 Mar 2025ReprimandNot stated-
Police Service of Northern Ireland3 Oct 2024Monetary penaltyUK GDPR£750,000
Chief Constable of Kent Police15 Mar 2024ReprimandNot stated-
Dover Harbour Board15 Mar 2024ReprimandUK GDPR-
Chief Constable West Midlands Police1 Mar 2024ReprimandUK GDPR-
Chief Constable Devon and Cornwall Police2 Feb 2024ReprimandUK GDPR-
Chief Constable Dorset Police2 Feb 2024ReprimandUK GDPR-
Crown Prosecution Service18 Jan 2024Enforcement noticeData Protection Act 2018-
Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI)26 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Chief Constable West Mercia Police and Chief Constable Warwickshire Police6 Oct 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Ministry of Justice8 Sep 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Nottinghamshire Police21 Jun 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Thames Valley Police30 May 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Surrey Police3 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Sussex Police3 Apr 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Metropolitan Police Service2 Mar 2023ReprimandUK GDPR-
Chief Constable of Kent Police23 Sep 2022ReprimandNot stated-
South Wales Police26 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-
Chief Constable of North Yorkshire Police2 Mar 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-

03Other sectors

04Sector analysis elsewhere on the site

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28