None
Financial penalty
Monetary penalty, no fine
28 August 2025
Date on the register
PECR 2003
Law relied on
PECR regulation 19
Utilities
Sector
11 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO issued Home Improvement Marketing Ltd with a monetary penalty on 28 August 2025 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Home Improvement Marketing Ltd
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 28 August 2025
- Register year
- 2025
- Law relied on
- PECR 2003
- Provisions cited
- PECR regulation 19
- Penalty
- Not stated in the published entry
- Sector on the register
- Utilities
- ICO register reference
- 80824
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 1 PDF published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 11 of 216 actions (5%)
- Actions published that year
- 31
- Actions under this law
- 87
- Position on the register
- 182nd of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- 3 actions dated 28 August 2025
- Complaints recorded
- 274
- Entries for this organisation
- 2 on this register
02What happened, and where it sits
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 28 August 2025. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, citing PECR regulation 19. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.
The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.
The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 274 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd is filed under Utilities, which accounts for 11 of the 216 actions on the register (5%). In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 14 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 182nd of 216 actions on the register and the 7th of 11 in Utilities. The ICO published 3 actions on 28 August 2025, so this one was part of a batch: Green Spark Energy Ltd (enforcement notice) and Green Spark Energy Ltd (monetary penalty). Home Improvement Marketing Ltd appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 28 August 2025 and enforcement notice on 28 August 2025. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 1.5 MB in total: "Home Improvement Marketing Ltd Monetary Penalty Notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd (HIML) was investigated as part of a wider operation set up by the Commissioner to assess and analyse complaint trends in relation to the energy and home improvements sector.
In March 2024, the ICO carried out a search warrant to obtain evidence in relation to HIML and its compliance with PECR. Following an extensive investigation, it was revealed that between 31 May 2023 and 31 August 2023, HIML instigated the transmission of 2,449,380 automated marketing calls to subscribers without their prior consent contrary to regulation 19 of PECR. This resulted in 274 complaints being made to the TPS and the ICO reporting tools.
Several complainants stated they were receiving multiple recorded calls a day. The software responded based on a recipient’s answers and there was no option to opt-out of further calls.
The law behind this action
PECR 2003
PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
Published notice
04Other entries for Home Improvement Marketing Ltd
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Improvement Marketing Ltd | 28 Aug 2025 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
05Published the same day
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green Spark Energy Ltd | 28 Aug 2025 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| Green Spark Energy Ltd | 28 Aug 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
06Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green Spark Energy Ltd | 28 Aug 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| Energy Prices Direct Limited | 30 Mar 2026 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| This Is The Big Deal Limited | 25 Aug 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £30,000 |
| Crown Glazing Ltd | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £130,000 |
| Maxen Power Supply Limited | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £120,000 |
07Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/09/home-improvement-marketing-ltd-monetary-penalty-notice/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].