EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2023 / 17354/MONETARY PENALTY

Outsource Strategies Ltd

Monetary penaltyPECR 200320 October 2023

None

Financial penalty

Monetary penalty, no fine

20 October 2023

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

provision not named

Sector not stated

Sector

35 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Outsource Strategies Ltd with a monetary penalty on 20 October 2023 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Outsource Strategies Ltd
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
20 October 2023
Register year
2023
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
Not stated in the published entry
Sector on the register
Sector not stated
ICO register reference
17354
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
35 of 216 actions (16%)
Actions published that year
80
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
95th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone
Complaints recorded
74
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Outsource Strategies Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 20 October 2023. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 74 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2023 the ICO published 80 enforcement actions in total, 22 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 95th of 216 actions on the register. Outsource Strategies Ltd appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 20 October 2023 and enforcement notice on 20 October 2023. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 2.5 MB in total: "Outsource Strategies Ltd MPN" and "Outsource Strategies Ltd enforcement notice". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Outsource Strategies Ltd made 1,346,503 unwanted marketing calls between 11 February 2021 and 22 March 2022 to numbers registered with the TPS. The ICO received 74 complaints from people variously saying they received repeated calls despite requests to stop and that the callers were aggressive.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

04Other entries for Outsource Strategies Ltd

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Outsource Strategies Ltd20 Oct 2023Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Marketing

05Nearest entries on the register

All Sector not stated actions/All 2023 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/04/outsource-strategies-ltd-mpn/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28