None
Financial penalty
Monetary penalty, no fine
9 November 2023
Date on the register
PECR 2003
Law relied on
provision not named
Finance, insurance and credit
Sector
19 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO issued DPG Professional Services Ltd with a monetary penalty on 9 November 2023 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.
01The record
- Organisation named
- DPG Professional Services Ltd
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 9 November 2023
- Register year
- 2023
- Law relied on
- PECR 2003
- Provisions cited
- Not named in the published notice
- Penalty
- Not stated in the published entry
- Sector on the register
- Finance, insurance and credit
- ICO register reference
- 17379
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 1 PDF published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 19 of 216 actions (9%)
- Actions published that year
- 80
- Actions under this law
- 87
- Position on the register
- 102nd of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- 3 actions dated 9 November 2023
- Calls or messages recorded
- 74,119
- Complaints recorded
- 13
- Entries for this organisation
- 2 on this register
02What happened, and where it sits
DPG Professional Services Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 9 November 2023. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.
The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.
The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 74,119 marketing calls or messages and 13 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.
DPG Professional Services Ltd is filed under Finance, insurance and credit, which accounts for 19 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2023 the ICO published 80 enforcement actions in total, 22 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 102nd of 216 actions on the register and the 7th of 19 in Finance, insurance and credit. The ICO published 3 actions on 9 November 2023, so this one was part of a batch: Complete Marketing Services Ltd (enforcement notice) and Complete Marketing Services Ltd (monetary penalty). DPG Professional Services Ltd appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 9 November 2023 and enforcement notice on 9 November 2023. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 874 KB in total: "DPG Professional Services Ltd - monetary penalty notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
Between 3 August 2021 and 3 August 2022, DPG made 74,119 unsolicited calls for direct marketing purposes in breach of Reg 21 of PECR resulting in 13 complaints.
DPG first came to the attention of the Commissioner as part of an operation set up to investigate direct marketing activity regarding life insurance and later life planning.
The law behind this action
PECR 2003
PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
Published notice
04Other entries for DPG Professional Services Ltd
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DPG Professional Services Ltd | 9 Nov 2023 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
05Published the same day
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Complete Marketing Services Ltd | 9 Nov 2023 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| Complete Marketing Services Ltd | 9 Nov 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
06Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Digivo Media Limited | 3 Oct 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £50,000 |
| MCP Online Ltd | 28 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| Pinnacle Life Limited | 7 Mar 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £80,000 |
| National Debt Advice Limited | 14 Oct 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £30,000 |
| DPG Professional Services Ltd | 9 Nov 2023 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
All Finance, insurance and credit actions/All 2023 actions/The full register
07Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2023/11/dpg-professional-services-ltd-mpn/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].