EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2023 / 17377/MONETARY PENALTY

Intelling Ltd

Monetary penaltyPECR 200316 November 2023

None

Financial penalty

Monetary penalty, no fine

16 November 2023

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

provision not named

Online technology and telecoms

Sector

7 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Intelling Ltd with a monetary penalty on 16 November 2023 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Intelling Ltd
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
16 November 2023
Register year
2023
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
Not stated in the published entry
Sector on the register
Online technology and telecoms
ICO register reference
17377
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
7 of 216 actions (3%)
Actions published that year
80
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
106th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone
Calls or messages recorded
1,164,877
Complaints recorded
1,103

02What happened, and where it sits

Intelling Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 16 November 2023. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 1,164,877 marketing calls or messages and 1,103 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

Intelling Ltd is filed under Online technology and telecoms, which accounts for 7 of the 216 actions on the register (3%). In 2023 the ICO published 80 enforcement actions in total, 22 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 106th of 216 actions on the register and the 3rd of 7 in Online technology and telecoms. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 1.0 MB in total: "Intelling monetary penalty notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Between 1 January 2021 and 11 November 2021, Intelling sent 1,164,877 direct marketing messages in breach of Reg 22 of PECR.

Intelling first came to the attention of the Commissioner as a result of 1,103 complaints received through the 7726 Spam Reporting Service.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

Published notice

04Nearest entries on the register

All Online technology and telecoms actions/All 2023 actions/The full register

05Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2023/11/intelling-ltd/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28