EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2025 / 82872/REPRIMAND

Post Office Limited

ReprimandUK GDPR2 December 2025

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

2 December 2025

Date on the register

UK GDPR

Law relied on

UK GDPR Article 58(2)(b)

Sector not stated

Sector

35 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Post Office Limited with a reprimand on 2 December 2025 under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Post Office Limited
Action
Reprimand
Date published
2 December 2025
Register year
2025
Law relied on
UK GDPR
Provisions cited
UK GDPR Article 58(2)(b)
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Sector not stated
ICO register reference
82872
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
35 of 216 actions (16%)
Actions published that year
31
Actions under this law
95
Position on the register
192nd of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone

02What happened, and where it sits

Post Office Limited received an ICO reprimand on 2 December 2025. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation, citing UK GDPR Article 58(2)(b). A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why Post Office Limited appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 8 of them reprimands. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 192nd of 216 actions on the register. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 246 KB in total: "Post Office Limited reprimand". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

On 25 April 2024, Post Office Limited (POL) uploaded an unredacted copy of a legal Settlement Deed to its corporate website instead of the intended redacted version. The Settlement Deed contained the personal data of 502 claimants who were part of the 2017 group litigation brought against POL which exposed the Horizon IT Scandal.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

UK GDPR

The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.

All 95 register actions under UK GDPR

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

Published notice

04Nearest entries on the register

All Sector not stated actions/All 2025 actions/The full register

05Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/12/post-office-limited/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28