EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2022 / 17240/REPRIMAND

London Borough of Croydon

ReprimandUK GDPR26 July 2022

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

26 July 2022

Date on the register

UK GDPR

Law relied on

provision not named

Local government

Sector

20 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued London Borough of Croydon with a reprimand on 26 July 2022 under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
London Borough of Croydon
Action
Reprimand
Date published
26 July 2022
Register year
2022
Law relied on
UK GDPR
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Local government
ICO register reference
17240
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
20 of 216 actions (9%)
Actions published that year
32
Actions under this law
95
Position on the register
11th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
2 actions dated 26 July 2022
People affected
115

02What happened, and where it sits

London Borough of Croydon received an ICO reprimand on 26 July 2022. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why London Borough of Croydon appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 115 people affected. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

London Borough of Croydon is filed under Local government, which accounts for 20 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2022 the ICO published 32 enforcement actions in total, 31 of them reprimands. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 11th of 216 actions on the register and the 2nd of 20 in Local government. The ICO published 2 actions on 26 July 2022, so this one was part of a batch: Grindr LLC (reprimand). The ICO publishes one document for this action, 123 KB in total: "croydon-reprimand-letter-20220921". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

From April 2020 to April 2021, the London Borough of Croydon Council responded to less than half of their SARs within the statutory timescales. This meant that 115 residents did not receive a response in accordance with the UKGDPR. Additionally, since June 2021, the ICO has issued 27 decisions notices under FOIA related to the Council’s failure to respond to information requests. They were issued with a reprimand.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

UK GDPR

The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.

All 95 register actions under UK GDPR

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

Published notice

04Published the same day

1 other action carry the date 26 July 2022
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Grindr LLC26 Jul 2022ReprimandUK GDPR-Sector not stated

05Nearest entries on the register

All Local government actions/All 2022 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2022/07/london-borough-of-croydon/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28