EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2022 / 17248/REPRIMAND

National Crime Agency

ReprimandData Protection Act 20186 September 2022

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

6 September 2022

Date on the register

Data Protection Act 2018

Law relied on

provision not named

Sector not stated

Sector

35 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued National Crime Agency with a reprimand on 6 September 2022 under the Data Protection Act 2018. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
National Crime Agency
Action
Reprimand
Date published
6 September 2022
Register year
2022
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Sector not stated
ICO register reference
17248
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
35 of 216 actions (16%)
Actions published that year
32
Actions under this law
8
Position on the register
19th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone

02What happened, and where it sits

National Crime Agency received an ICO reprimand on 6 September 2022. The Commissioner acted under the Data Protection Act 2018. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why National Crime Agency appears on the register without a figure beside it.

The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2022 the ICO published 32 enforcement actions in total, 31 of them reprimands. 8 actions on the register name Data Protection Act 2018.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 19th of 216 actions on the register. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 194 KB in total: "National Crime Agency reprimand". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

The exception reports were to highlight where the work of the RPA could not be completed and manual officer intervention was required in order to complete the necessary work on Interpol circulations. Due to this oversight the exception reports were not actioned and as a result the cancellation of the data subject’s extradition order was not actioned which led to the incorrect arrest of the data subject.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

Data Protection Act 2018

The Data Protection Act 2018 carries the UK GDPR into domestic law, sets out the separate law-enforcement and intelligence-services regimes in Parts 3 and 4, and creates the criminal offences the ICO prosecutes.

All 8 register actions under Data Protection Act 2018

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

Published notice

04Nearest entries on the register

All Sector not stated actions/All 2022 actions/The full register

05Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2022/09/national-crime-agency/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: [email protected].

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28